Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Sophia Johnson
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I’m new to this forum and this is my first post here. I’ve been doing massive catchup by reading as many posts here in the forums as I can and have found them extremely informative. this forum really seems like a great community and is what I’ve been looking for for some time.

I’m currently working on a product idea/invention that I think has large potential in a specific market segment. My own patent search hasn’t come up with any IP that would prevent me from achieving a patent on this product. I will be ordering materials soon for building my own prototype (I’m a product engineer, so (initial) prototyping comes easy to me) and will probably look into getting a provisional if it proves out.

My question to all of you is this: what factors do you consider when it comes to deciding whether to license your invention or build a company around it and manufacture/market/distribute it yourself? I know that this topic has been touched on in other posts to some extent, but I haven’t seen one dedicated to it and would love to hear people’s opinions

Maia
    Participant

Hi Sophia,

Welcome! I am going to attempt to license my product over manufacturing it, etc. My main reason for this is time and money :). I am not experienced in business and don’t have much capital. I am a stay at home mom, so time is a big issue for me as well. Licensing seems like it will allow me to have someone with more experience handle the areas in which I am not strong. Before I found out that licensing was even an option, I tried to do it myself and was basically stopped in my tracks by all the details that starting up a business around my product would entail. For my first product, I feel comfortable letting someone else take most of the risk and getting less of a percentage in return.

Julian
    Participant